FR
Back

Our projects

Assk

ACCESS TO HEALTH SERVICES IN KINSHASA

The “Access to Health Services in Kinshasa” Project, also known as ASSK, aims to improve the health of women, children and adolescents living in the province of Kinshasa, in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

In line with the efforts of the PASSKIN Project (2012-2017), this initiative aims, on one hand, to improve the quality and availability of health services, in particular sexual and reproductive health (SRH) services, while ensuring gender equality and women’s and girl’s sexual and reproductive rights. On the other hand, it seeks to increase the utilisation of these services by women, children and adolescents.

These results will be achieved through key actions such as providing SRH training and support for health care workers, improving health infrastructures and equipment, and ensuring the availability of contraceptives and medicine in order to provide the full package of SRH services. These interventions will be combined to support and training activities for various actors (care providers, teachers, peer educators, community participation bodies and social leaders) on SRH awareness. The ASSK project will also contribute to strengthening governance by providing technical and financial support to the teams responsible for health services management.

In addition, ASSK rests on a gender equality strategy that focuses on improving the integration of gender issues in health services management structures, as well as promoting the active participation of women and girls to ensure these structures take into account their specific needs with regard to SRH.

Therefore, the Project is consistent with Canada’s new Feminist International Assistance Policy, which promotes gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls, in particular through interventions that support sexual and reproductive health and rights.

Start
FEBRUARY 2018
End
MARCH 2023
Country
DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF THE CONGO
Region
CENTRAL AFRICA
Activity sector
SEXUAL AND REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH
Budget
CA $19.844.048
Bailleur de fondsGLOBAL AFFAIRS CANADA
Partners

IN CONSORTIUM WITH

INTERNATIONAL HEALTH UNIT, UNIVERSITY OF MONTREAL’S HOSPITAL CENTRE (CHUM-USI)

PARTNER

MINISTRY OF PUBLIC HEALTH, PROVINCE CITY OF KINSHASA

Share

EN
Retour

Nos projets

Assk

Accès aux services de santé à Kinshasa

Le Projet « Accès aux services de santé à Kinshasa » (ASSK) a pour objectif d’améliorer la santé des femmes, des enfants et des adolescents vivant dans la province de Kinshasa, en République démocratique du Congo.

S’inscrivant en continuité du projet PASSKIN (2012-2017), cette initiative vise, d’une part, à améliorer la qualité et la disponibilité des services de santé, notamment des services de santé sexuelle et reproductive (SSR), en tenant compte de l’égalité de genre et des droits des femmes et des filles. D’autre part, elle cherche à accroître l’utilisation de ces services par les femmes, les enfants et les adolescents.

Ces résultats seront atteints à travers diverses actions telles que la formation et l’accompagnement des prestataires de soins en matière de SSR, l’amélioration des infrastructures sanitaires, la dotation d’équipements ainsi qu’un appui pour la disponibilité des contraceptifs et médicaments afin d’offrir la gamme complète de services de SSR. Ces interventions seront combinées à l’appui et la formation des divers acteurs (prestataires de soins, enseignants, pairs-éducateurs, organes de participation communautaires et leaders sociaux) sur la sensibilisation en matière de SSR. Le renforcement de la gouvernance par un appui technique et financier aux équipes responsables de la gestion des services de santé est également prévu.

De plus, ASSK s’appuie sur une stratégie en matière d’égalité de genre dans le but d’améliorer l’intégration des aspects genre dans les structures de gestion de services de santé ainsi qu’à promouvoir la participation active des femmes et des filles afin que les structures tiennent compte de leurs besoins spécifiques en matière de SSR.

Le Projet s’arrime donc avec la nouvelle politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada qui valorise l’égalité de genre ainsi que le renforcement du pouvoir d’agir des femmes et des filles par le biais, notamment, d’une intervention accrue en matière de santé et droits sexuels et reproductifs.

Début
Févirer 2018
Fin
Mars 2023
Pays
République démocratique du Congo
Région
Afrique Centrale
Secteur d'activité
Santé sexuelle et reproductive
Budget
19 844 048$ CAD
Bailleur de fondsACDI (Affaires mondiales Canada)
Partenaires

Ministère de la Santé Publique (MSP), Ville province de Kinshasa

Partager